Upcoming Events
Past Events
IAS Distinguished Lecture
Joint Lecture
IAS Commons
Workshop / Forum
Subscribe eNews
The Origin of Classical General Relativity and Gauge Theory
Prof. YAU Shing-Tung, William Caspar Graustein Professor of Mathematics, Harvard University
Date : 30 Jul 2019 (Tuesday)
Time : 3:00 - 4:30 pm
Venue : Cheung On Tak Lecture Theater (LT-E), HKUST
Video & Photos Details


In this lecture, the speaker will give a description of the ideas that lead to great success of classical general relativity and modern gauge theory.


About the speaker

Prof. Yau Shing-Tung received his PhD in Mathematics from the University of California, Berkeley in 1969. He spent a year as a Member of the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton before joining Stony Brook University in 1972 as an Assistant Professor. He worked in Stanford University and University of California, San Diego respectively and moved to Harvard University in 1987, where he is now the William Caspar Graustein Professor of Mathematics.

Prof. Yau’s work is in geometry in the broadest sense. He was the first person to combine differential geometry and analysis, and used their interaction to solve longstanding problems in both subjects. His work opened up new directions, set foundations and changed people’s perspectives towards mathematics and their applications in physics and computer science. His proof of the Calabi conjecture gave solutions of multiple well-known open problems in algebraic geometry and also allowed physicists to show that string theory is a viable candidate for a unified theory of nature. Calabi–Yau manifolds are among the ‘standard toolkit’ for string theorists today.

Prof. Yau received the Wolf Prize in Mathematics in 2010 in recognition of his lifetime contribution to geometric analysis, and his enormous impact on many areas of geometry and physics. He was granted the Fields Medal in 1982 and numerous awards including the Marcel Grossmann Award (2018), the US National Medal of Science (1997), the Crafoord Prize (1994), the MacArthur Fellowship (1985) and the Oswald Veblen Prize in Geometry (1981). He was also elected the Fellow of the American Mathematical Society, Fellow of the American Physical Society, Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Member of the US National Academy of Sciences and Academician of Academia Sinica.


For attendees’ attention


  Seating is on a first come, first served basis.



HKUST Jockey Club Institute for Advanced Study
Enquiries: ias@ust.hk / 2358 5912