Award and Honor
IAS Development
Press Release
IAS Channel
Media Coverage
IAS Senior Visiting Fellow Professor LUK Kam-Biu Receives the Future Science Prize in Physical Sciences
7 Sep 2019
Prof. Kam-Biu LUK, IAS Senior Visiting Fellow, and Prof. WANG Yifang, Director of Institute of High Energy Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, were co-awarded the Future Science Prize in Physical Sciences for the experimental discovery of a third pattern of neutrino oscillations. Both scientists led the Daya Bay Neutrino Experiment, which is designed to measure the mixing angle using anti-neutrinos produced by the reactors of the Daya Bay Nuclear Power Plant and the Lingao Nuclear Power Station. This discovery not only set the new research direction but also influenced the future of particle physics. The Future Science Prize is initiated by a group of scientists and entrepreneurs to recognize scientists who have outstanding achievements in basic science research in China. The award ceremony will be held in Beijing, China, on November 17, 2019.

Learn More
Tin Ka Ping Education Fund Receives Financial Boost
24 Jul 2019
HKUST receives an additional fund from Tin Ka Ping Foundation in support of the Tin Ka Ping Education Fund on research development and exchange of talents. A donation ceremony held on July 24, 2019 was attended by two past IAS Tin Ka Ping Fellows, Dr. Shoucheng DONG and Dr. ZHANG Ting, along with the newly appointed Fellow Dr. Dongying ZHOU who is assisting IAS Bank of East Asia Professor Ching W. TANG in research and teaching work. They showed their gratitude towards the Foundation for supporting young mainland scholars like them.

Learn More
IAS Senior Visiting Fellow Professor Evelyn HU Receives the IEEE Andrew S. Grove Award
29 Jun 2019
IAS Senior Visiting Fellow Prof. Evelyn HU won the 2020 IEEE Andrew S. Grove Award for her “pioneering contributions to microelectronics fabrication technologies for nanoscale and photonic devices”. The award is sponsored by the IEEE Electron Devices Society to recognize those with outstanding contributions to solid-state devices and technology.

Learn More
IAS Bank of East Asia Professor Ching TANG is awarded 2019 Kyoto Prize in Advanced Technology
14 Jun 2019
The Inamori Foundation, Kyoto, Japan announced that Prof. Ching W. TANG, the IAS Bank of East Asia Professor of The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, is the recipient of the 2019 Kyoto Prize in Advanced Technology. Prof. Tang is honored for his “Pioneering Contributions to the Birth of High-Efficiency Organic Light-Emitting Diodes (OLED) and Their Applications”. He is a Hong Kong native and the first person of Chinese descent to win the Kyoto Prize since it was established in 1985.

The Kyoto Prize is awarded by the Inamori Foundation annually to individuals who have made global achievements in the categories of Advanced Technology, Basic Sciences, and Arts and Philosophy. Each laureate will receive a diploma, a 20K gold Kyoto Prize medal, and a prize money of 100 million yen. The formal award ceremony will be held on Nov 10, 2019 in Kyoto, Japan.

Learn More
IAS Senior Visiting Fellow Professor Surendra SHAH Elected to the Academy of Athens
13 Jun 2019
Prof. Surendra P. SHAH, IAS Senior Visiting Fellow, was elected to be one of the Corresponding Members of the Academy of Athens in the Section of Sciences in recognition of his contributions to the field of Engineering and Concrete Materials. The Academy of Athens, with its name reference to the ancient Academy of Plato, was established in 1926. Prof. Shah is another IAS academic who was elected to the Academy after Prof. Sir Christopher PISSARIDES.

Learn More
1 2 3 4 5 6