Award and Honor
Press Release
IAS Channel
Media Coverage
IAS Members Honored with HKUST Named Professorships
9 Mar 2016
HKUST’s third inauguration ceremony of named professorships was held at IAS building to honor eight outstanding faculty members, including IAS Helmut and Anna Pao Sohmen Professor-at-Large George SMOOT, Daniel C K Yu Professor in Science & IAS Executive Director Che Ting CHAN and Fang Professor in Engineering & IAS Senior Fellow Kei May LAU.

Learn More
The Latest Issue of IAS Newsletter Released
29 Feb 2016
The HKUST Jockey Club Institute for Advanced Study (IAS) is committed to providing a knowledge hub to nurture talents in driving cutting edge research. This triannual IAS Newsletter shares the latest stories of our people and work.

Learn More
IAS Visiting Professor Receives the 2016 Buckley Prize
24 Feb 2016
IAS Visiting Professor Eli YABLONOVITCH won the 2016 Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize for his seminal achievements in solar cells and strained quantum well lasers, and for creating the field of photonic crystals, spanning both fundamental science and practical applications of that science. Awarded by the American Physical Society, this prize is presented to those with outstanding theoretical or experimental contributions to condensed matter physics. Prof Yablonovitch became the third IAS Visiting Professor who won the Buckley Prize after Prof Marvin COHEN and Prof Patrick A. LEE.

Learn More
IAS Visiting Professor Conferred Honorary Doctorate at HKUST's 23rd Congregation
20 Nov 2015
IAS Visiting Professor Sir John PENDRY from Imperial College London was conferred an honorary degree (Doctor of Science honoris causa) at HKUST’s 23rd Congregation. This time, five outstanding individuals in total were awarded in recognition of their distinguished achievements and contributions.

Learn More
Research team led by IAS Senior Visiting Fellow won Breakthrough Prize
9 Nov 2015
The research team, Daya Bay Collaboration, led by Prof Kam-Biu LUK, IAS Senior Visiting Fellow and Visiting Professor of Physics, has won the 2016 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics together with four other research teams “for the fundamental discovery and exploration of neutrino oscillations, revealing a new frontier beyond, and possibly far beyond, the standard model of particle physics”. Prof Luk and his collaborator, Prof Yifang Wang, from the Institute of High Energy Physics of the Chinese Academy of Sciences are the leaders of the Daya Bay Reactor Neutrino Experiment with a team of over 270 scientists from the US, Mainland China, Taiwan and the Czech Republic. It is an unprecedented prize for Chinese scientists and their discovery on the measurement of θ13 enables the future search for charge parity violation in neutrino oscillation.

Learn More
      5 6 7 8 9 10 11